How do I Dropbox?
August 25, 2021 11:22 AM   Subscribe

Someone is trying to share some big files with me via a Dropbox folder. They're too big for a free Dropbox account, so Dropbox is telling me I have to upgrade before I can access the files. The thing is, I don't need to use Dropbox for anything else in my life so I don't want to upgrade/pay, and all I want is to be able to download the files and get them off there. Is there a way to do this?

I would like to not make more work for the person on the other end, so if there's a way to solve this without them re-uploading the docs somewhere else, I'd love to know it.
posted by BlahLaLa to Computers & Internet (7 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite
 
Best answer: They should be able to create a link that they can give you. Then you can direct your browser to that link and download the files even if you don’t have a Dropbox account.

Here are instructions from Dropbox for how they can do that.
posted by Salvor Hardin at 11:30 AM on August 25, 2021 [6 favorites]


They can use YouTransfer to send up to 2Gb free. No sign up for you necessary.
posted by a humble nudibranch at 12:47 PM on August 25, 2021


Response by poster: I see that link to the Dropbox instructions is for "view-only" files. Will I be able to download them? (I need to be able to download them.)
posted by BlahLaLa at 1:50 PM on August 25, 2021


Best answer: Yes you will be able to download view-only files (I have done this within the past two weeks). What you will not be able to do is edit them as you would if it were a shared folder.
posted by heatherlogan at 2:05 PM on August 25, 2021


Best answer: Yeah, sounds like they are choosing the wrong Dropbox sharing option. The "Share with..." option in Dropbox is a collaborative thing, where both of your Dropbox accounts will contain the files/folder, and sync across both your machines.

If they just need to send you a big file, they should choose the "Create Public Dropbox Link" (wording may be off, it's been a while) option. This will just let you download the file to your computer, and any changes that you make to that file will NOT be synced on Dropbox.
posted by xedrik at 5:08 PM on August 25, 2021


USB/HD and USPS (or your country's equivalent).
posted by Hey, Zeus! at 7:27 AM on August 26, 2021


Best answer: Yes, “view-only” is poorly worded. They really mean read-only. As in, you won’t be able to edit THEIR copy of the file. You can view or download it. Then do whatever you want to your copy once you’ve downloaded it.
posted by Salvor Hardin at 7:47 AM on August 26, 2021


« Older Two slightly rainy days in Chicago during Covid   |   How to use letter builder in procreate? Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments