Sincerest form of flattery, or worse?
July 1, 2008 10:39 AM
Subscribe
Somebody is joining social networking sites using my personal email address. Should I be concerned?
Last week I got an email from Friendster, and yesterday an email from Orkut (in Portuguese, even!) about the account I'd just created at their sites. Only problem: I hadn't created an account at their sites. Obviously I did not click on the confirmation link in the email, but still. This is my personal email address (not the one in my MeFi profile), which consists of my real first and last name at gmail.com. It got me wondering... is this an attempt at some form of online identity theft or fraud?
I emailed Friendster about it, and explained the situation, and the CSR who responded said he deleted the profile that was created, but he explained it away casually, like "oh somebody probably just made a typo entering their email address." I was already kind of skeptical (like somebody made a typo and spelled my first and last name exactly, by accident?), but with another confirmation email from a different site, now I think somebody is doing this on purpose.
I know it seems kind of silly, like what's the worst that could happen with somebody setting up a profile using my email address on some dumb social networking site? But at the same time, I don't want some future employer to do a search on my email address and turn up a profile I didn't make with information about me that may range from just incorrect to outright negative.
Is there anything I can do to try to figure out who's doing this, and should I? Or should I just keep up this approach of waiting for confirmation emails, then writing the customer service department of that site and asking them to delete the account?
posted by cobra_high_tigers to computers & internet (19 comments total)
posted by phunniemee at 10:46 AM on July 1