An expensive lesson?
November 12, 2007 7:19 PM
Subscribe
My scam detector is going off but... but just a glimmer of hope... Anybody here dealt with "Electronics Marketing Limited"?
I've come into contact with a seller, based in the UK but I believe with ties to manufacturing in China. I've had email corrospondance with him and if it wasn't for the EXTREMELY low prices on consumer hardware and the promise of free worldwide FedEx shipping I would believe that he was legit and on the up and up.
They're a registered company in the UK for 20 years (reg number 02159548). I know this because I independantly looked up the reg number with the government. All valid and looking OK.
They say they only accept Western Union money transfers... alarm bells ring here and I'm very hesitant to wire cash.
They're present on some classified sites around the web and on large e-commerce/business listings like alibaba, highdubai and businesspatrol.
I just for the life of me can't find anybody to vouch for this company and secretly wish I've found one of lifes great secrets :)
Assuming this isn't a scam - how the hell can they offer those prices? Organised crime? Stolen merch? Any ideas to proving authenticity before finding out the hard way? Please don't snark me, I'm tempted by the low-hanging fruit and will feel silly enough if this is a ripoff without HURF DURF SCAMBAIT
posted by puddpunk to shopping (9 comments total)
1 user marked this as a favorite
I don't think any legitimate company would use an email address on "live.com" for business correspondence. And some things I've found online say that scammers prefer payment by Western Union because WU doesn't demand much in order to receive payment.
posted by Steven C. Den Beste at 7:27 PM on November 12, 2007