Join 3,366 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)

YoGA! YoGA! YoGA!
November 25, 2005 7:02 PM   Subscribe

NYCYogaFilter: Any NYers who attend yoga classes? Do you have a school or teacher to recommend?

I'm relatively new to the yoga world, so I'm not really sure where to start. Where better than here?

My criteria are the following: good beginner level classes, broad class availability (I work crazy hours), teacher quality as well as quality of students (serious students dedicated to it as a lifelong practice, as opposed to someone merely there for a quick workout). I'm looking for something relaxing yet rigorous and difficult enough to get me in some shape. And, of course, affordable.

I live in Brooklyn, but I'm pretty sure the best places will be in Manhattan.

That's what I need...a clean place, reeeeeasonably priced.
posted by nevercalm to Health & Fitness (5 answers total)

See if you can get a class with Lily at the Laughing Lotus. I'm not sure how many classes she teaches a week- she comes to our office and teaches a private class, and I know that's the majority of her teaching, too. She is awesome! So sweet, so kind, so wonderful.
posted by ThePinkSuperhero at 7:50 PM on November 25, 2005 [1 favorite]

That said, if you can't get a class with her, she also practices at the Laughing Lotus, so I'm guessing it's a very good place.
posted by ThePinkSuperhero at 7:55 PM on November 25, 2005

I go to Life in Motion in their 105th and Broadway location and I like the place a lot (affordable, nice teachers and agreeable atmosphere). They have a Park Slope location too. Regarding instructors, my suggestion is to see what kind of yoga you like first and then choose the teacher. In a place like this you are offered several different options. Also, keep in mind yoga might take you a little time to get into. But it is very, very worth the time, and the effort.
posted by carmina at 8:21 PM on November 25, 2005