Why won't iTunes recognize that my iphone has already been set up?
August 16, 2010 6:03 PM   Subscribe

On Friday, I used Sn0wbreeze to update my (jailbroken) iphone 3gs from 3.1.3 to 4.0. Everything went smoothly, and I restored all my previous apps and files. I synced the phone a few times that night to get all my settings the way I wanted. Today, I plugged in my phone to sync it, but now iTunes is showing the "Set Up Your Phone" screen, with the options of either setting it up as a new phone or restoring from a backup. What gives, and how do I make it quit?

I have downloaded several apps from Cydia since the previous syncing, but none of them seem to have shown a problem on the phone. A few caused it to go into safe mode, so I deleted them. The phone is working just fine and shows no sign of anything weird. iTunes also seems fine, other than not recognizing my phone as being set up. I don't want to spend the hour or however long to restore the phone again, especially if the problem might recur. This is iTunes 9.2 on XP, and I used Sn0wbreeze 1.7.
posted by Captain Cardanthian! to Technology (2 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite
 
Well, crud. After restarting my computer to see if it made any difference, I got a popup saying the file "AppleSyncNotifier.dll" was missing, which I thought SURE would be the problem, or at least connected to it. Reinstalling iTunes had no effect, however, and the set up page still appears when the phone is connected. So there's that piece of information.
posted by Captain Cardanthian! at 6:34 PM on August 16, 2010


Sn0wbreeze forums.
posted by sharkfu at 6:34 PM on August 16, 2010


« Older Help me have happy feet. I'd ...   |  "Does my dream job exist?... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.