Skip

Is there a review aggregator for London theatre?
April 30, 2004 11:05 AM   Subscribe

I'm about to head off to London and I want to see some good, serious theatre. I'm VERY careful about what I see (theatre being expensive), and I like to read many reviews first. Instead of buying 30 newspapers and magazines, is there a site somewhere that collects or links to multiple reviews of each current show?

PS. I'm really looking for reviews, but if you want to recommend a specific show, please note that I prefer classics to modern plays. And I really like classics when they're done withOUT any obvious conceptual twist (i.e. I DON'T want to see "Hamlet" set on the moon.)
posted by grumblebee to Media & Arts (8 answers total)
 
While I don't know of any review websites, but once you've decided which shows you want to see, I heartily recommend you pay a visit to Theatre Monkey. This site goes into incredible detail about the best way to book tickets for each show and which seats to go for (for example, "Legroom barely tolerable in all seats, worst in row A, best in row B 1, 21 C 1 and 24, and some extra space in H 3 and 16 and J 2 and 16.").

Theatre Monkey also links to some review websites, but I don't know how good those are.
posted by chrismear at 11:53 AM on April 30, 2004


What's On Stage (news, reviews--both site reviews and reader reviews--and forums)

Albemarle of London (ticket agency, but has reviews as well)

London Theatre (news, reviews)
posted by thomas j wise at 12:08 PM on April 30, 2004


The latest Hamlet is getting Rave reviews
posted by Mick at 12:59 PM on April 30, 2004


(a few already mentioned, but...)

ATW - London
Musical Stages [UK]
Albemarle of London
Londontheatre.co.uk
Google News

Links courtesy of broadwaystars.com - a great site for NYC theatre.
posted by milovoo at 1:39 PM on April 30, 2004


there used to be a discount TKTS-ish booth in Leicester Sq.--I think it's still there...had a good selection every day.
posted by amberglow at 3:59 PM on April 30, 2004


You can't go too far wrong (usually) if you go to a production at the National, Donmar, Almeida or Hampstead Theatres.

The Mikado (ENO, at the newly renovated Coliseum) is good fun ;) but better hurry as it's closing on 6 May!
posted by cbrody at 5:59 PM on April 30, 2004


Second Albemarle recommendation and cbrody's recommendation of various theatres. I'd go to any National, Donmar, or Almeida production sight unseen.

Have you considered the newspapers? The Evening Standard has locked away their review archives, but I've had good luck with the Guardian or Independent.

As amberglow noted, there is a half-price ticket booth in Leicester Square, but it's important to realize that the real ticket booth is the one in the Square itself. On the side streets leading from the Tube station to the Square, there are loads of ticket agencies and ripoff artists masquerading as the real half-price ticket booth.
posted by Vidiot at 9:37 AM on May 1, 2004


there's a new Hamlet that's supposed to be good, too
posted by amberglow at 6:01 PM on May 2, 2004


« Older Can anyone show me to a good p...   |  FTP help: I have some files on... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.


Post