OpenOffice's evil twin
November 24, 2011 3:41 PM Subscribe
What the heck is OpenOffice.fm, and did this download damage my friend's computer?
My friend just decided to switch to OpenOffice on his Windows 7 laptop. He searched for OpenOffice, and found the website OpenOffice.fm, which I won't link to, but if you go there, it appears to be the home of the OpenOffice project. He downloaded the program, and installed it. It asked him to install various odd things along the way, like the Bing toolbar, and something like "jackpot rewards", but declined to install those extra things - it did claim to be installing OpenOffice, though.
When it finished, and OpenOffice didn't appear to be in fact installed on his computer, he asked me for help, at which point I informed him that the home of the actual OpenOffice project was OpenOffice.org, not OpenOffice.fm. The OpenOffice.fm website appears to be an elaborate deception, designed convincingly to imitate the OpenOffice.org project. There is no record of anything installed today in the "Programs" part of the Control Panel, and nothing appears to be different about his computer.
Question Part 1: What the heck did my friend put on his computer? Was it some kind of malware? What kind? Is there any way to tell what was installed, remove it, or limit the damage?
Question Part 2: Assuming it is malware, is there some way to get that website taken down? The whole website seems so brazenly fraudulent, it seems like someone should be able to do something about it. Who? How?
Thanks.
posted by Salvor Hardin to computers & internet (10 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite
For your friend's computer, I'd suggest wiping it and re-installing the OS, actually.
posted by odinsdream at 3:46 PM on November 24, 2011