Join 3,514 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)


How can I re-share my friend's Facebook photos?
March 6, 2011 12:40 PM   Subscribe

How can I re-share my friend's Facebook photos?

My friend posted a photo album to Facebook and the album's privacy settings are set such that only his friends can see the album. I'd like all of my friends to see this album (not just our mutual friends). In other words, I'd like the album to appear on my wall and in the newsfeed that all my friends see about me.

I tried using the "Post Album to Profile" link, but as expected, only our mutual friends were able to see my post.

This makes sense; clearly, Facebook seems to be respecting the privacy settings my friend has chosen. What's the best way to re-share this album to all of my friends, though? Obviously I could download the photos and re-post them as my own new album, but I'd prefer to avoid doing this because (a) I'm lazy, and (b) I'd also like to preserve the comments people have made on the photos.

Note that I'm not trying to sneak around my friend's back or anything; he knows I want to do this, but he doesn't want to change the album privacy to "friends of friends" because that's a really wide circle. I'd just like *my* friends to see them, not all of his friends' friends.

Any ideas welcome - thanks!
posted by sunflower16 to Computers & Internet (14 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite
 
I don't think there's a way to do what you want to do- I've tried to look for it before. In the end, I end up downloading and re-posting the photos I want to share.
posted by ThePinkSuperhero at 12:41 PM on March 6, 2011 [1 favorite]


When he's logged in and viewing the main album page, he should see at the bottom, a line that says "Share this album with anyone by sending them this public link".
posted by knile at 12:49 PM on March 6, 2011


When he's logged in and viewing the main album page, he should see at the bottom, a line that says "Share this album with anyone by sending them this public link"

I was curious, so I tested it- I sent a link from my photo's to a Facebook friend, and they posted it to their wall. Then we tested to see who could see the post. Only people who were friends with me could see it. So doesn't sound like that's a working strategy.
posted by ThePinkSuperhero at 1:26 PM on March 6, 2011


Tag yourself in all of them. How many photos are we talking?
posted by Trivia Newton John at 3:19 PM on March 6, 2011


Duh, you just download the images and post them again. Right click on the picture, do save as, etc.
posted by delmoi at 4:08 PM on March 6, 2011


Thanks for the answers so far.

Trivia: Tagging myself won't work because tagging doesn't change the privacy settings of the photos. They still won't be visible to my friends even if I'm tagged in them.

Delmoi: As I mentioned, I'm aware that I could do this but I'm looking for alternate solutions.

Keep the suggestions coming!
posted by sunflower16 at 4:35 PM on March 6, 2011


The new photo viewer does not allow right-click > save. That said, this is the whole point of the security settings. Ask him to allow friends of friends.
posted by rhizome at 4:39 PM on March 6, 2011


Ask your friend to alter their privacy settings. If they say "no", move on. It's possible that the friend has the privacy settings for a reason.
posted by Ookseer at 6:41 PM on March 6, 2011


As I mentioned in the original post, my friend is already aware of what I want to do and would prefer not to alter the settings.

If anyone has any suggestions that provide what I'm asking for, let me know. I suspect what I'm trying to do is not possible, but I figured it didn't hurt to ask.
posted by sunflower16 at 7:47 PM on March 6, 2011


It's not possible.
posted by bluedaisy at 7:58 PM on March 6, 2011


It is not possible.

HOWEVER. If you ever want to share just one pic at a time, send a link directly to the image, not the page that has the picture. This is done by right-clicking on the image and clicking "Copy Image Location" (on firefox, wording may differ on IE/chrome). Paste wherever you want to share. FB's security settings are only set on the page, has no effect on the image file.

Re a comment made above - the new lightbox photo viewer can be overridden just by refreshing the page.
posted by pinksoftsoap at 10:30 PM on March 6, 2011 [1 favorite]


Can you "like" it...thereby having it link up on your wall for your peeps to look at?

I'm not sure...feedback would be great. I'm currently dealing with a new facebook account and how to keep certain shit private.
posted by hal_c_on at 12:18 AM on March 7, 2011


I was curious, so I tested it- I sent a link from my photo's to a Facebook friend, and they posted it to their wall. Then we tested to see who could see the post. Only people who were friends with me could see it. So doesn't sound like that's a working strategy.
Yet, when I try it with my albums and people who don't have Facebook accounts, they can see it. So there's something about this strategy that does work.
posted by knile at 1:41 AM on March 7, 2011


I don't think this is possible exactly the way you want it to be, but there is a program called FacePAD that will download all the images in an album at once, making your secondary solution a bit easier.
posted by Vectorcon Systems at 7:20 AM on March 8, 2011


« Older Looking for life coach / disse...   |  What to wear for a 'biker chic... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.