Join 3,430 readers in helping fund MetaFilter (Hide)


Did OSX delete my pictures?
November 6, 2008 12:48 PM   Subscribe

Did I lose the photos I had in a guest account on my MacBook?

About a year ago, I enabled a guest account on my MacBook (or did I create another non-guest account?) and uploaded some vacation photos there from my camera for my family to look at. (I did this to not have to worry about my family seeing other work or personal stuff on my regular account.)

Now, I can't find those pictures anywhere. I must have disabled the guest account at some point - now that I've re-enabled it, the pictures aren't there. Did it delete them when I disabled guest access? Are my pictures lost forever?
posted by iknowizbirfmark to Computers & Internet (3 answers total)
 
Files owned by guest are deleted at logout.
Your photos are long gone. Sorry.
posted by kickingtheground at 1:09 PM on November 6, 2008


Thanks. :(
posted by iknowizbirfmark at 1:15 PM on November 6, 2008


There is still a chance the images are on the drive, but you just can't see them without special tools. You might try something like PhotoRec to see what it can find. If it has been a long time, the odds of success are low, but it is free except for your time, so why not take a shot?
posted by procrastination at 4:01 PM on November 6, 2008


« Older My son is starting a snow plow...   |  I need ideas for a "theme... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.