Missing Domain
August 23, 2004 7:49 PM   Subscribe

Help! My domain has fallen off the internet, my email server is refusing to accept my account details, ditto my FTP, the control panel for my site is there, but no longer logging me in. Worse still, my provider's page now refers striaght to this page. What in the hell has gone wrong? Has my host been hijacked?
posted by armoured-ant to Computers & Internet (11 answers total)
Looks like your hosting company was buying bandwidth/space from a bigger fish hostco and didn't pay their bills. Unless you can find the people who ran the company you were with and get something from them I'd say you're a bit hosed on this.

Or get back to nuvoweb and see if they'll waive the setup fee if you ask nicely.

Sorry dude. I think you got screwed by your host.
posted by Dipsomaniac at 7:58 PM on August 23, 2004

Response by poster: I've never dealt with NuVoWeb though. My hosts (101-webhosting.com) were resellers for hosting-systems.co.uk. Also, the links on the nuvoweb page are all 404s. Suggestions?
posted by armoured-ant at 8:02 PM on August 23, 2004

Yeah, your host is where you should direct your queries, your domain should still work until next month at least (renew, dude!).
posted by mathowie at 8:03 PM on August 23, 2004

the nuvoweb links are all 404s because their htlmers are idiots and fucked up the code. http://www.nuvoweb.com definitely works though, as do all the links from that page.

And though you've never dealt with Nuvo, it looks like 101 or hosting-system.co.uk (which doesn't appear to be there, either) did and they didn't pay their bills.

I'm curious how much you were paying 101.

If you have your site on your hd, I'd just find a new host and upload there. Fuck that $50 fee. (I recommend dreamhost.com.)
posted by dobbs at 8:24 PM on August 23, 2004

second the dreamhost.com recommendation. They're wonderful. My site's been down maybe 10 minutes in three years, if that.
posted by Happydaz at 8:30 PM on August 23, 2004

You domain's still there, I'm not having any trouble resolving it at all. Your host, however, seems to be deepy hosed.

According to ARIN, the guys you need to get in touch with about the host itself are:

OrgName: Global Net Access, LLC
Address: 55 Marietta St, NW
Address: Suite 1720
City: Atlanta
StateProv: GA
PostalCode: 30303
Country: US
[ ... ]
OrgTechHandle: ENGIN7-ARIN
OrgTechName: Engineering
OrgTechPhone: +1-404-230-9150
OrgTechEmail: engineering@gnax.net

posted by majick at 8:32 PM on August 23, 2004

NuvoWeb.com is prepared to offer the same package you have signed up for, for free, for 1 yr. 

In order for us to do this, there is a 1-time setup fee of US$50.00 (The cost to move your account to our server).

If you do not wish to host with us, but only want your files to move elsewhere, no problem...

We can provide a backup for $50.

Sounds like you are going to have to pay $50 to nuvoweb if you want your data.

I also recommend DreamHost. Excellent service.
posted by Steve_at_Linnwood at 9:17 PM on August 23, 2004

Look, go to JaguarPC and see what you think.

I have the GigaDeal and their support is AWESOME.
posted by erratic frog at 11:50 PM on August 23, 2004

It just sounds like a scam to me. You know, you get that icky little feeling that something isn't quite as it seems. I think it has something to do with the fact that there is no way to access your data without paying them $50, even though you personally (or any of the other customers of 101) were not responsible for the supposed non-payment of bills. Not to mention ... they are saying they weren't paid for server bills, which means your data would already be ON their servers, wouldn't it? Why the $50 charge to move it? Sounds odd, or maybe I just don't "get it".

I don't think I would give them any money though. I hope you had a backup.
posted by Orb at 12:47 AM on August 24, 2004

... Wait a sec, this sounds like something that happened to me once. My DNS provider had been hacked in that instance.

Contact your host directly, by telephone if possible.
posted by SpecialK at 8:51 AM on August 24, 2004

Smells fishy to me. The "suspended" page is at a raw IP and not a domain (I'd reverse DNS it but I'm too lazy right now), the links are faulty, the English is not very professional (and possibly ESL).
posted by neckro23 at 3:55 PM on August 24, 2004

« Older Digital camera that records video   |   Having trouble setting up 2 SATA hard drives as a... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.