"We'd like to share the latest updates with you"
August 20, 2021 6:34 AM   Subscribe

I visit a news website and I get a popup saying something like "We'd like to share the latest updates with you." I can click on Allow or No Thanks. I always click on No Thanks, but what would happen if I made a mistake and clicked Allow? Would I just be asked to provide an email address, or would notifications start getting pushed onto my browser unwanted?
posted by Epixonti to Technology (5 answers total)
 
Best answer: Notifications get sent to your computer from the browser ("Latest from Accuweather - Climate Change is real, link: blah"). They are by domain (url), and can be turned off in your browser's settings if accidentally turned on. Don't worry, you're not doomed to a lifetime of annoying notifications.
posted by cgg at 6:48 AM on August 20, 2021 [2 favorites]


Best answer: Note too that you can change your browser settings to block ALL notification requests, if you're tired of being asked. Change the setting once and you'll never see another request.

For example, in Chrome: https://support.google.com/chrome/answer/3220216
posted by Gortuk at 7:41 AM on August 20, 2021 [8 favorites]




Best answer: Don't be surprised if websites continue to send notification requests in Safari even after you opt out, it's been something users have been complaining about since 2015.
posted by jamaro at 9:09 AM on August 20, 2021


Response by poster: And me a Safari user!

Thanks to all of you for your answers!
posted by Epixonti at 1:59 PM on August 20, 2021 [1 favorite]


« Older How to decide between similar condos   |   Where to get printed masks in decent quality? Newer »

You are not logged in, either login or create an account to post comments