Is blocking someone on Facebook really a permanent action?
June 10, 2016 6:24 AM   Subscribe

I unfriended and blocked someone on Facebook and we’ve since made up but I can’t refriend him even after unblocking him.

I simply don’t see him and he doesn’t see me even if we look for each other by our email addresses. The only way I can actually see him is if I go to the Block Users section, type his name in and hit Enter. Then I get a list of all the people of that name, and he shows up. Clicking on his name to open his profile returns the error “Sorry, this content isn't available right now”. I tried reblocking him – which worked, he was listed as a blocked user - and then unblocking him, which also worked - he disappeared from the list, but the issue persists: weeks later, I still can’t see him in the user search or send him a friend request. I’ve written to Facebook to report the problem but only got a generic response.
posted by Dragonness to Computers & Internet (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite
 
Maybe he has you blocked?
posted by Kriesa at 6:26 AM on June 10, 2016 [1 favorite]


To answer that question: no, he showed me a screenshot of his blocked users section - he does not have anyone blocked and has not blocked me in the past either.
posted by Dragonness at 6:27 AM on June 10, 2016


Facebook has what is effectively a "cooling off period" associated with unblocking someone. I'm not sure how long this period is -- I think it's around 48 hours -- but during this period, even thought the person is no longer blocked, Facebook will treat it as though they are still blocked. Since you just reset the clock, you will have to wait several days.
posted by slkinsey at 6:42 AM on June 10, 2016 [4 favorites]


Sorry to threadsit, but I reset the clock weeks ago.
posted by Dragonness at 6:55 AM on June 10, 2016


Do you have access to a desktop? I have seen people have problems doing this on mobile.
posted by roomthreeseventeen at 7:05 AM on June 10, 2016


Yeah, all this was done on a desktop.
posted by Dragonness at 7:15 AM on June 10, 2016


Under Privacy settings, there's a "Who can look you up using the email address you provided?" setting -- do you (and he) have it set so that you'd be allowed to search for each other?
posted by lazuli at 8:24 AM on June 10, 2016 [1 favorite]


Did you "refriend" them after you unblocked them? I think blocking them kicks them off of your friends list so you and they would only see whatever was available to non-friends (after this colling off period which I hadn't heard of before)
posted by jessamyn at 8:55 AM on June 10, 2016


It may also help for both of you to clear your caches. He also may have you blocked despite sending you a screenshot...
posted by yes I said yes I will Yes at 9:01 AM on June 10, 2016 [3 favorites]


« Older Almost 30 with No Skills, How to Correct?   |   How much will it cost to run window air... Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.