I still don't want to be Mark Zuckerberg's friend
December 23, 2011 3:13 PM   Subscribe

I've just noticed that Facebook is geotagging status updates. How the hell do I turn it off?

I just noticed this under a recent FB post:

Like · Comment · Share · December 16 at 6:43am near [LOCATION]

I don't object when it says what device I was using (TweetDeck, Facebook for iPhone, etc.) but I don't want it posting my location when I'm on via the web. Is there anyway to turn this off? I've dug through the security and account settings and (surprise surprise!) can't figure it out.
posted by NotMyselfRightNow to Computers & Internet (7 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite
 
While you are posting your status, the location should be visible below (grayed). Just delete the location before you post. ANd I think you can edit them later to delete.
posted by Tandem Affinity at 3:38 PM on December 23, 2011


While you are posting your status, the location should be visible below (grayed).

Nope, it's not.
posted by NotMyselfRightNow at 4:54 PM on December 23, 2011


None of my updates are geotagged, so it can be turned off. But I'll be dammed if I can find the setting. Is it maybe only accessible from Facebook Mobile?
posted by COD at 5:43 PM on December 23, 2011


If you're on an iPhone you can turn it off by going to settings - location services.
posted by something something at 5:45 PM on December 23, 2011


I don't know how to do this through the phone app, but I know in your browser when you go to make a status update, there will a little GoogleMap-esque locator thing down by where you also select who gets to see your post. Delete that. I know that any further posts from a browser won't have your location.
posted by fiercekitten at 6:20 PM on December 23, 2011


Yup, on your iPhone, go to Settings, then Locations Services, then turn "Off" Facebook. You don't set this through Facebook, but the phone. You'll still be able to enable locations in specific updates, if you want.
posted by bluedaisy at 6:50 PM on December 23, 2011


You can also turn off the geotagging feature under Privacy>How Tags Work>Friends can check you into places using the mobile app.

This at least makes it so FB friends can't check you in, and once I turned that capability off I haven't seen any geotagged posts since.
posted by lockstitch at 6:53 PM on December 23, 2011


« Older Repair DSLR or buy a new Micro Four Thirds camera?...   |   Help make my time travel party unbelievable! Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.