Online movie reviews written for and by high shcool age kids?
February 3, 2005 6:30 PM   Subscribe

Seeking substantial online movie reviews written by or for elementary/junior high school age kids. I can only find insubstantial reviews written by kids ("Harry Potter was totally awesome! You should see it! The end") or parent-directed reviews that focus on keeping kids from seeing anything dirty.
posted by kmel to Computers & Internet (9 answers total)
 
Screen It! has detailed rundowns of just about everything in a movie that might possibly be considered objectionable.
posted by Vidiot at 6:53 PM on February 3, 2005


Christian Spotlight on the Movies does the same, but has more of an ax to grind and definitely comes from a conservative, evangelical Christian viewpoint.

(And that Screen It link above doesn't link to all their reviews, for some reason. You can always get to their reviews (and quite often Christian Spotlight's) by going to the particular movie's IMDb "external reviews" page.)
posted by Vidiot at 7:02 PM on February 3, 2005


Vidiot, I think kmel was looking for reviews that are *not* like those from Screen It! and CSotM.

"I can only find ... parent-directed reviews that focus on keeping kids from seeing anything dirty."

(Not being snarky -- you have good Google Fu on the topic, maybe you know of other sites, too)
posted by bcwinters at 7:07 PM on February 3, 2005


Um vidiot, that's exactly what kmel was NOT asking for methinks.

kmel, I don't see any reason why a junior-high kid couldn't comprehend the same reviews the rest of us read. Peek at metacritic for a sampling.
posted by glenwood at 7:10 PM on February 3, 2005


Oop! bcwinters and glenwood are right -- I misread the question as having "parent-directed reviews" be an acceptable alternative.

Apologies.
posted by Vidiot at 7:13 PM on February 3, 2005


Right, I'm NOT looking for Christian reviews. I'm planning lessons about persuasive writing for kids with language/reading impairments, so I need something that is not too challenging in terms of vocabulary and sentence structure. I agree that lots of reviews intended for adults aren't very sophisticated, but they still tend to require lots of editing to make them appropriate for my purposes (and I'd rather not spend too much time editing).
posted by kmel at 7:30 PM on February 3, 2005


Kmel: Might you consider book reviews instead? What I'm thinking is that if you look at books for kids that age on Amazon, there are lots of "wow, that was really kewl!" reviews, but there are generally some thoughtful one's too. If you find a thoughtful review, click on the reviewers name and see what else they've reviewed. Repeat as necessary.
posted by duck at 7:34 PM on February 3, 2005


If you're not focused on movies but might also entertain graphic novels, the reviews at Sidekick are written by kids and it's a very easy to use site. Their sibling site No Flying No Tights reviews graphic novels for teens. The World Kid Network has movie reviews online. I don't know much about them but they seem to also be up your alley.
posted by jessamyn at 7:53 PM on February 3, 2005


How about Movie Mom?
posted by Octaviuz at 6:57 AM on February 4, 2005


« Older How to get mildew smell out of a chest of drawers?   |   Etymology of the phrase "hunt you down like a dog" Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.