Facebook account reactivated without my consent
September 7, 2009 3:28 AM   Subscribe

I deactivated my Facebook account several weeks ago, but this morning I got an email from them saying the account had been reactivated. I logged on and my account was there! Why/how did this happen and how can I prevent it from happening again?
posted by anonymous78 to Grab Bag (3 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite
 
It reactivates the next time someone logs into it - through a web browser, IM client, mobile device, whatever. That somehow happened.

The permanent way: http://www.facebook.com/help/contact.php?show_form=delete_account
posted by magic curl at 4:04 AM on September 7, 2009 [5 favorites]


Note that even if you choose to "permanently delete" your account, there is still a two-week grace period during which time your account can be reactivated if you or someone else log into it. I would suggest changing your password and then deactiving/deleting it again.
posted by Houyhnhnm at 5:10 AM on September 7, 2009


Best answer: You're assuming the email was truthful and not just a ploy to get you to log back into your account in the hopes that you'll change your mind and start using the site again. I would not make such assumptions where social networking websites are concerned.
posted by bizwank at 7:36 AM on September 7, 2009 [2 favorites]


« Older They explode in 50's sitcoms... what else do they...   |   What should I be reading? Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.