Know a Berkeley/Oakland mechanic who can give a car "pre-purchase inspection" tomorrow (Saturday)?
September 12, 2008 7:08 PM   Subscribe

Bay Area Mefites, do you know of a Berkeley (or nearby) car mechanic who could inspect a used car for me tomorrow (Saturday)?

I found a great deal on a 1997 Honda Accord, but before I buy it I want to have it inspected by a mechanic who can check the timing and give it a once over for problems that my untrained eye cannot catch.

I'm looking for a mobile mechanic on Craigslist now, but these seem to be fly-by-night operations and I cannot get any reviews on them. I love my mechanic (Grandma's Garage, owned by Nancy near 4th and Gilman) but she's not open weekends and I need to move on this quickly as it is something of a screaming deal (super low miles, good carfax report, all classical and talk pre-set radio stations = old lady-ish, etc).

Thanks a million for helping me out - anyone gives a helpful answer can probably get a beer out of me at Hotsy Totsy later tonight, I'll be the fat white guy with black hair by the shuffle board table.
posted by unclezeb to Travel & Transportation around Berkeley, CA (8 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite
 
The list so far:
Midas ($150)
Steve and Patti's (~$100)
posted by unclezeb at 7:13 PM on September 12, 2008


Berkeley Minicar is THE place to find a Honda-specific mechanic, but I don't know if you can reach anyone there at this hour.
posted by mikeand1 at 7:16 PM on September 12, 2008


The Cartalk Mechan-x files would be a good place to check if you can't find a personal recommendation.
posted by phearlez at 8:30 PM on September 12, 2008


You should also check Yelp. It's been a good place for me to go when in need of urgent/last-minute automotive recommendations.
posted by ilikecookies at 9:38 PM on September 12, 2008


Try Art's Automotive, there is an outside chance they'll have a mechanic in on saturday. they service our 2007 subaru and our 200 infiniti.
posted by iamabot at 10:43 PM on September 12, 2008


I'd call Art's Automotive and ask if they can do it, or failing that, if they can recommend someone who would. I've had excellent experiences with both Art's work and their recommendations for other providers (everything from a recommendation for a non-Honda garage, to good places to sell/junk my old car).
posted by zippy at 11:32 PM on September 12, 2008


I see Art's gets rave reviews on yelp, however, it seems they are only open Monday - Friday. I guess I can try calling in the morning regardless.

Now the list is:
XYZ Motors
Steve and Patti's
Murguia's
Steve's Auto Care
And Midas which is too expensive given their poor reputation.
posted by unclezeb at 12:48 AM on September 13, 2008


Ended up going to Murguia's - $50 for the inspection was by far the best price and Salvador (owner) was thorough. Thanks mefites!
posted by unclezeb at 1:27 AM on September 14, 2008


« Older Should I provide a fabricated reference for a...   |   I need a good camera. Newer »
This thread is closed to new comments.