How do I increase reverb in a small room?
September 7, 2016 4:45 PM   Subscribe

I have a small 63" x 64" breakfast nook in my house. Is it workable to close it off, put in a door, and maximize the reverb to make it into a one-person music practice room for my household?

Is the room large enough to get any effect? Can this be done for less than $1K?

(I hear music rooms are supposed to be anechoic. Perhaps for real musicians, of which I am not one. I want something fun to sing and play in, as a stairwell is.)

Great video showing anechoic room and reverberation room:
posted by Jennifer S. to Sports, Hobbies, & Recreation (6 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

i suppose you could tile it and get that 'singing in the shower' feel...
posted by noloveforned at 4:54 PM on September 7, 2016 [1 favorite]

What about using a mic with a reverb machine/pedal/software plugin and headphones?
posted by TrinsicWS at 5:00 PM on September 7, 2016 [1 favorite]

As a musician, I would hate playing in the example room you linked to, other than every now and then for novelty or for really specific purposes. A big part of what makes reverb in something like a stairway or church pleasing is the delay caused by the sound having to travel a good distance to the far walls before bouncing off them and returning to you. Five feet's reflection is almost instantaneous, so even if you added lots of reflective material, you'd get something more like being in a tiny bathroom rather than something most people would find enjoyable.

I don't know what the reverb room in the video is intended for, but usually something like that in a recording studio would be used by having a speaker fed from the recording played through it and mixed into the main mix as a small percent of the sound rather than something performers would usually be inside.