Getting Back Into Digital Photography
August 19, 2008 11:36 AM   Subscribe

Getting Back Into Travel Photography. Five Questions

I had a SLR camera when I was a teenager, but gave up the hobby because of the price of film and developing. Now, many years and a unrelated advanced degree later, I am a researcher and have not touched a non-point-and-shoot in years.

For my research I travel to quite a few "exotic", "adventurous", and "remote" locations. I had never really thought about taking photos while doing my field research until a few months ago when I hung out with a freelance journalism in the field for a couple weeks. He had a decent DSLR and playing with his camera rekindled my love for photography.

So, as a birthday present to myself, I want to take the plunge and buy a DSLR (maybe a Nikon D40 or D50) and get back into photography.

I am hoping the hivemind can help me answer these 10 questions:

1. I am a novice photographer, what blogs can I read to improve my skill?

2. I am skilled in and own Photoshop and Illustrator, is there any other software I need?

3. What types of non-camera & non-lens equipment (bags? covers? etc...) do you recommend for a novice? (I don't need specifics, just general types)

4. In general, what are the differences between Canon, Nikon, Pentax, etc... for entry level DSLR?

5. Later on, should I consider joining istockphoto to help offset the cost of my photography hobby?
posted by Spurious to Media & Arts (15 answers total) 17 users marked this as a favorite

I'd recommend the Nikon D40 with a wide angle lens and a mid to tele, like their 18-200. But go to Ken Rockwell's website and all your questions will be answered.
posted by lockestockbarrel at 11:51 AM on August 19, 2008

In answer to question #1:

Digital Photography School is good at a novice and early-intermediate level.

But really: