Jailbreaking the iPhone 3G
August 18, 2008 11:38 PM   Subscribe

Considering jailbreaking my iPhone 3G with Pwnage. A few concerns.

I don't want to switch off of AT&T. I just want free ringtones and a couple other non-approved apps. Here are my questions:

First, before anything else, my biggest fear is that my phone will somehow be destroyed in the process (I think it's called 'bricking?"). What are the risks? Will my phone permanently stop working (and I'll have to buy a new one) if something screws up? Will I have to buy a new one? What happens if I need repairs from the Apple store? Is there any way to do a backup beforehand that will keep my iPhone safe come Hell or high water?

(1) How easy is it to jailbreak? How easy is it to download unapproved programs? I'm not a programmer by any means, but I'm fairly computer literate.
(2) Will anything (apps, functions, visual voicemail, etc.) stop working post-jailbreak?
(3) Should I go ahead and not install updates on my iPhone post-jailbreaking?
(4) Where can I find/download good jailbreak apps?
(5) Anything else I should know?

Thanks!
posted by JamesJD to Computers & Internet (17 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

First caveat: I do not have an iPhone. These answers are given based on my experiences "modding" other devices, none of which went well or are worthy of detailing here.

As a general rule, before you start mucking with the electronic brains of any computer-type device, this statement:

I'm not a programmer by any means, but I'm fairly computer literate