What happens to someone's personal debt if s/he goes to prison?
September 1, 2004 7:24 PM   Subscribe

What happens to someone's personal debt (ex. credit cards, student loans) if s/he goes to prison? Does it matter if the term is <10 years? Life? (Not that I need to worry personally, just curious.)
posted by ferociouskitty to Work & Money (6 answers total)

Student loans provide for a forbearance or a deferrment if you are back in school or unemployed. Presumably in prison you could get an unemployment forbearance forbearance and (I think) the unpaid interest is turned into principal while it's not paid. (This was true 20 years ago, anyway, when I worked in a bank.) No idea about credit cards, or what happens if you are in for many, many years. Maybe you declare bankruptcy?
posted by onlyconnect at 8:51 PM on September 1, 2004

I don't see why anything special would happen. Being in prison doesn't prevent you from engaging in financial transactions. (Possibly with the help of friends/family/lawyers.) So if you just refused to pay, your debt would be sent to a collection agency, which could eventually sue you and have the court take your property, if any, and garnish your wages once you get out.

Think about someone like Martha Stewart going to prison. It's not like her whole financial empire is going to grind to a halt while she's in there--her assets will be managed by other people.
posted by mcguirk at 9:14 PM on September 1, 2004

A bankruptcy stays on your credit for what - 6 or 7 years? I would think that unless you had a lot of assets to manage, a long spell in prison would make bankruptcy seem like a non-issue.
posted by Salmonberry at 10:08 PM on September 1, 2004

Presumably in prison you could get an unemployment forbearance forbearance

Don't most prisoners have prison jobs? Doing stuff in the wood-shop or something that pays $0.25/hour? That is my understanding.