Where Should I Promote Mac Services in NYC?
July 30, 2008 9:08 AM   Subscribe

Know any well-frequented bulletin boards / community posts in the NYC (Manhattan and Brooklyn) area? I teach software like FCP and Photoshop, fix Macs, and tutor people in how to use them. I've been running an independent consulting business for around 7 years, but I need some more good places to put up advertising (flyers put up around the city disappear sometimes within an hour). My rates are very reasonable but are not "cheap", so preferably bulletin boards in somewhat affluent areas preferred (but at this point, what part of NYC isn't gentrified...?) And, if anyone has any other NY-specific advertising ideas, I'm all ears (word of mouth has been my best friend).
posted by dmaterialized to Work & Money (9 answers total)

Post an ad on craigslist, maybe?
posted by JaredSeth at 9:19 AM on July 30, 2008

I've been on Craigslist for a few years, JaredSeth, and surprisingly haven't gotten much business through it-- especially in the last year or so, when the number of postings per day has gone up so rapidly. Sometimes I wish it wasn't so popular! :)
posted by dmaterialized at 9:24 AM on July 30, 2008

I'll assume you're talking about physical bulletin boards here. If so, neighborhood coffee shops in Brooklyn tend to be de facto community centers and often have bulletin boards for this kind of thing.

I'm not sure it counts as affluent, but there is a very active bulletin board at The Archive, which is a cafe just off the Morgan stop on the L train (Bushwick). This is basically the only source of coffee in the neighborhood, and it is right next to the train station, so everyone who lives there will pass through and see your ad.

Other places you might try (and where the clientele might have more disposable income) are the Tea Lounge in Park Slope, Tillie’s in Clinton Hill, etc.