How to get corporate sponsors?
July 24, 2008 12:02 PM   Subscribe

In a nutshell: I'm an artist who got trapped in a day job and I no longer have enough available time to create new work. I'd like to raise money from corporate sponsors to help fund a 10 month period where I would paint some new work and then have it exhibited at my local museum. I am not interested in applying for grants because I already know it would be a waste of time for the type art I do. I guess what I need is guidance, tips, or at least a success story to give me some encouragement. Thanks.
posted by Perihelion to Media & Arts (4 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

what type of work do you do?

getting sponsorship for, say, large-scale steel fabrications might be a different proposition than, say, getting sponsorship for dog and horse portraits.
posted by wreckingball at 12:15 PM on July 24, 2008

Response by poster: Large scale oil paintings, usually figures, but they are fairly realistic and from an extensive grant search, I can see that my work would not be considered academic enough to attract grant support.
posted by Perihelion at 12:19 PM on July 24, 2008

Whether you apply for grants or approach a corporation, 99% of them aren't going to give you sponsorship purely out of the goodness of their hearts, especially if it's just so you don't have to work for 10 months. They are definitely going to want something out of the deal to benefit themselves, and you'll need to convince them why they should invest in you. You might end up writing those grant applications regardless. Can you find a big office building that needs art on the walls? Would you be willing and able to make the kind of art for people you don't normally do to support what you do want to do?
posted by girlmightlive at 12:40 PM on July 24, 2008