Final Cut Express HD 3.5 - all imported footage is slightly out of sync!
July 23, 2008 10:19 AM   Subscribe

I have imported three DV tapes into Final Cut and they are all out of sync, by what seems like 1 second (but maybe less?). It's out of sync in the viewer, out of sync in the timeline, when I render it, and when I export it.

However, the tape itself is not out of sync when I watch it in the camera. I read something about a "frame offset" setting in Final Cut that is automatically set to 4, but that setting doesn't seem to be in my version of Final Cut at all.

Did I import everything wrong? Is there an easy way to fix this? I'm just starting out on Final Cut and I am totally stumped.
posted by eric1200 to Computers & Internet (7 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Just wanted to add that I also watched the footage from the actual captured video file on the scratch drive, and THAT'S out of sync too!
posted by eric1200 at 10:23 AM on July 23, 2008

When I first started digitizing footage into my Final Cut system, I had the same issue. I was eventually told that I couldn't digitize an entire tape as one file. I was told that I should break the (60 min) tape up into two 30 min files. You could give that a try.
posted by Spyder's Game at 10:46 AM on July 23, 2008

I read something about a "frame offset" setting in Final Cut that is automatically set to 4, but that setting doesn't seem to be in my version of Final Cut at all.

if it were off by four frames, you wouldn't be estimating a second. Four frames would be so slight that you'd be wondering if it was actually out of sync or if you were just looking too hard.

It does sound like the old "clip's too long, sync goes bad" problem that Spyder's Game mentioned. That's supposed to be fixed (and does seem to be with my copy of FCP Studio). But I would take a five-minute test clip and see how that works.