Soft, so soft!
July 16, 2008 10:05 AM   Subscribe

Mattress Filter: Where to buy a double mattress and/or bed in Montreal? I’m a starving student, and this September I want somewhere comfortable to sleep when I relocate to McGill. I’m not made of money, but metafilter has scary bedbug stories and a $200 Ikea foam job sounds uncomfy.

On the other hand I don't want to be the student who buys a house full of furniture full price, which later needs to be flogged when (s)he relocates in two years.

So, where can I get a comfy bed setup and how much should I expect to pay?
posted by Phalene to Home & Garden (9 answers total)

I sleep on an aerobed. Mine seems to be queen sized and cost $100USD, but you could probably locate a Canadian retailer. Anyway, my bed is a lot more comfortable than the traditional twin mattress & box spring set I'd been sleeping on, inflates really easily just by plugging it in, and deflates into a nice compact square that is easy to transport. You can put it in a bedframe if you like, but I just rest mine directly on the floor. My only concern is that my cat will poke a hole in it, but it did come with two repair patches.
posted by Polychrome at 10:25 AM on July 16, 2008

I got a pretty good double mattress from Ikea for US$150. It's the kind with springs inside, I think (it's definitely not foam though), and it's pretty comfy. I prefer thinner and more flexible mattresses than most people, so YMMV when it comes to the comfort factor.

I thought their beds were kinda ugly though, so no recommendations there.
posted by xbonesgt at 11:02 AM on July 16, 2008

I sleep on a friend's aerobed when I stay overnight, and it is quite comfy.

But I'll also put in a good word on Ikea mattresses. I have an Ikea spring mattress, nothing fancy, but definitely comfortable, that I have (seriously!) owned for something like 8 years.