Setting up a French bank account and mobile phone
August 24, 2004 7:36 PM   Subscribe

I'm studying abroad in Paris for the year, leaving in a little more than a week. What's the best way to set up and bank account and a mobile phone service from the states?

I've been advised to get an Orange phone because the service covers almost all of France, but the site is a bit daunting. I'd rather get a monthly bill than buy thousands of rechargable cards for my phone. Is there a large selection of services / can I activate them from the U.S. before I leave?

As for the bank, I'd like something that won't give me service charges in Parisian ATMs. Any good recommendations for banks/how to get things rolling?

I'll be in Biarritz for a month before Paris, hopefully I could get the phone shipped there?
posted by themadjuggler to Travel & Transportation (15 answers total)

this might help: Societe Generale's info.

You'd probably have to show all sorts of school proof and residence stuff, but it seems doable. Email them maybe?
posted by amberglow at 7:51 PM on August 24, 2004

Unless things have gotten a lot more liberal. setting up a bank account in Paris is a lot more difficult than in Paris: they want proof of lodging in the form of a utility bill, etc.

Do they charge that much to take money from a stateside bank account with a debt card? do you really need a bank account? On the other hand, those big French checks are kind of cool.

Also, remember that in France, the amount on a check is above the name of the payee--what a pain!
posted by ParisParamus at 8:06 PM on August 24, 2004

Response by poster: I'm not sure if the costs are so so high, but it does seem that the classic French bureaucracy rears its head here... reading Société Genérale's application and interview process, it looks like all this will have to be done in Paris as well. Next step would be to investigate service charges overseas (or maybe just bringing over cash?).