How likely am I to be disbarred here?
May 27, 2008 3:43 PM   Subscribe

I'm an attorney, admitted to the New York Bar in February, 2007. I've recently discovered that I did not complete the required number of CLE credits in my first year. How to I best rectify the error and what consequences can I expect to befall me?

Until this morning, I was under the impression that I had the full two years to complete the CLE requirements for newly admitted attorneys. It turn out that I am short several credits.

(If it matters, I have more than enough skills credits, and am short 3.5 professional practice credits and 3 ethics credits.)

Advice from anyone who's been in a similar situation would be much appreciated.
posted by anonymous to Law & Government (6 answers total)

I would say the odds you will be disbarred are low. First, you can put yourself into compliance relatively quickly. Second, you get tons of due process even if they go for your license. I think compliance at any of these levels is likely to be enough to ensure that you will not lose your license. Finally, you gotta expect that this is a common occurance in any state--enough people make this mistake that you can expect that it is probably considered pretty routine.

Finally, I'm certain you're aware that your first step will be to look at the rules to see whom to contact. If it looks at all daunting, just get an attorney who does this sort of ethics work to take care of this--you don't need to worry about billing and doing this at the same time.

I know some people barred there and I might be able to get a referral for you if you send me an mefimail.
posted by Ironmouth at 4:10 PM on May 27, 2008

I'm admitted to the New York Bar and am consistently behind in CLE credits. Get yourself a 90-day extension here: http://www.nycourts.gov/attorneys/cle/applicationforanextension.pdf
posted by pokeydonut at 4:35 PM on May 27, 2008