'm a photographer looking for a scrapbooking/note-taking software for OSX.
May 6, 2008 5:37 PM   Subscribe

I'm a photographer looking for a scrapbooking/note-taking software for OSX. I visit alot of photographers' sites and study their photos and would like a software in which i can easily copy and paste the image and tack notes on the pictures for review later. I've been using word processor but it's too unorganized and inconvenient.
posted by willy_dilly to Technology (10 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite
Believe it or not, MS OneNote would be perfect for this.
posted by oddman at 6:08 PM on May 6, 2008

Would the ScrapBook FireFox browser extension help you? It seems highly rated. Obviously it would require you do your research using FireFox. You can do a "Capture Page As" and you'll get an opportunity to add comments to what is cached.
posted by galaksit at 6:09 PM on May 6, 2008

I use Journler to do this very thing with pathology slides in medical school.
posted by Grundlebug at 6:29 PM on May 6, 2008

You can save the picture as a file(just drag from browser to desktop) and then add comments to the metadata of the file. Just hit apple/i or right click get info. There is also an automator action that lets you quickly add comments to the files metadata. Then store the files however you like. The comments would also be spotlightable.

Another option would be to use iphoto and add comments to each photo in the description window. This would let you leverage iphotos ability to organize photos. I also believe the descriptions are spotlightable,

As a side note, a quick way of grabbing an image from a site that say uses a flash interface is to take a screenshot of it. Use the shortcut apple/shift/4 and you will be giver a cross-hair which you can use to select the photo needed.(holding down the spacebar lets you position your selection perfectly)
posted by travis08 at 6:56 PM on May 6, 2008