How do sufferers of Receptive Aphasia understand instruction?
April 15, 2008 3:52 PM   Subscribe

How do sufferers of Receptive (aka Fluent or Wernicke's) Aphasia understand instruction from experimenters?

I've heard recordings of subjects exhibiting characteristic impairments on naming and repetition tasks, but I don't understand how they comprehend the task instructions! Maybe the (intact) hivemind can help. . .
posted by nilihm to Science & Nature (8 answers total)

Okay, obviously I'm not an expert on these things, but when my mom had aphasia it was kind of like being able to understand a language but not remembering the words to speak it herself even though she knew what she was wanting to say. Suddenly the vocabulary just wasn't accessible to her when she wanted to say things.
posted by miss lynnster at 3:55 PM on April 15, 2008

miss_lynnster, nilihm is talking about receptive aphasia. It's the inverse of what your mother had. Instead of losing the ability to construct sentences, one loses the ability to understand sentences spoken to you. However, you can still speak fluently.
posted by Netzapper at 4:08 PM on April 15, 2008

Best answer: Fluent aphasia doesn't mean you can still speak and be understood, it means the part of your brain that converts sentences to sounds is still entirely intact (in the 'classical' model, Broca's area does the motor stuff, and Wernicke's area does the grammar/syntax/etc stuff - it's pretty well recognized that that separation isn't really fully there, and both areas have overlap, and other areas are involved).

Anyway, aphasias are largely problems with speech production (i.e., being able to find the right words, then organize those words, then say those words). A lot of what you hear just goes right past all that. Unless its very dramatic, a lot of language is still preserved.