poo tube creeps out the wife
March 10, 2008 12:38 PM   Subscribe

Does anyone have a Cat Genie? It sounds like a great solution, except for the tube of liquified cat poo that dumps into your toilet bowl (?).

We currently use a litter robot... and it's pretty good. Keeps the smell mostly under control and easy as changing a trash bag.

I like the idea of having a litterbox in the bathroom that I'd never have to worry about again... but the cat genie doesnt seem quite ideal. Do you really come home to a toilet full of unflushed cat waste? Is it really that bad ( i was thinking I could make a habit of keeping the lid closed and flushing when I first got home). I know it connects to a laundry waste line too, but thats not an option for me.
posted by muscat to Pets & Animals (5 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Being a coastal California resident, I'd be wary of dumping cat feces into the sewage system.

It's gotten some mixed reviews over at Amazon, the most common complaint being when the unit clogs, you have to traverse the Pool of Liquified Cat Feces in order to fix it. The second most common complaint is that when the unit misses picking up a solid, it fills your house with the scent of baking cat shit. (!)

/sticking to my Litter Robot for now. P.S. sprinkle a layer of baking soda into the plastic bag after you've put it in the LR drawer. Completely kills any residual odor.
posted by jamaro at 12:58 PM on March 10, 2008

It's also hellishly expensive. According to the website, it costs $329, and if you have one cat, you'd need a new cartridge every 8 weeks at $14.99, so another $100 or so a year. Two cats, it'd be another $200 a year.
posted by essexjan at 1:07 PM on March 10, 2008