I'm doing something, but I'm not sure what I'm doing.
February 20, 2008 10:12 AM   Subscribe

I can draw stuff I look at. I don't know if that's a talent or a skill or in any way useful to me. Is it?

When I was a teenager I used to collect comic books. Lots and lots of them. At some point, for some reason, I started drawing certain images and pictures I found in them. I found this a rather soothing process, I guess, and I was pretty good at it, if I do say so myself, which I do.

This was a process whereby I basically took out a pad of paper and a pencil and using a particularly iconic picture of Superman or Spiderman or some such I would try to copy the image.

Eventually I started inking and coloring them.

I was told that my drawings were pretty good - very good, even - but I always felt like kind of a fraud. I wasn't tracing, I was drawing totally freehand, but I was always looking at something and copying it.

I've tried my hand at drawing with no point of reference, trying to work on original compositions, and they never really were of the quality of my "copied" work (obviously), and I usually lost interest pretty quickly and scurried back to drawing from my comic books.

For a decade or so I stopped doing this.

Then, the other day, partly because I was reading Stephen King's Duma Key, I think, I went out and bought an Artisan pad and some pencils and started sketching. Again, I found a nice World of Warcraft wallpaper from Blizzard's website with a cool picture of a troll and I put that on the table next to me and started drawing.

I think it came out really well! I'm pleased that my capacity to do this has not diminished, or, rather, has not diminished that much.

But then I started to think, you know, what is this? I guess my question is for the people out there who do paint and draw in a conventional sense.