Where to go for five months and a final breath of freedom?
February 11, 2008 8:26 AM   Subscribe

I'm thinking about going on an exchange program, and am not sure how I should rank my choices. Should I spend January to June in Brisbane, Australia or Amsterdam?

I'm in my second year of law school, and applying this week for an exchange program for next year. I would be gone from January-June, 2009.

If I were able to do the exchange in the fall term, I would choose Amsterdam; the choice is more complicated because the weather would be so much better in Australia than Holland at that time of year. And while I love Amsterdam, I've never been to Australia and would love to visit that part of the world. But I think it's undeniable that Brisbane is not the centre of culture that Amsterdam is, and I do love the vibe of Europe.

What are the pros and cons of going to Brisbane in their summer over Amsterdam in their winter? In both places, the terms don't start until February, so I could spend a month bumming around between Christmas and the start of classes.
posted by Dasein to Travel & Transportation (16 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

Are you looking for a summer vacation or an education?
posted by Nelson at 8:50 AM on February 11, 2008 [1 favorite]

Response by poster: A vacation - it doesn't have to be a summer one; summer is just the biggest factor in Australia's favour. It's an exchange, so education is secondary.
posted by Dasein at 9:14 AM on February 11, 2008

You don't say where you are, but I'm going to be US-centric and assume you're here.