Crooked teeth=not sexy
February 10, 2008 12:55 PM   Subscribe

Would it be safe/beneficial to wear my old retainer again? My teeth have started moving!

I had braces from about fifth grade through late middle school. I'm a college sophomore now. I wore my retainer, but not for as long as they said- I think they told me six months and I did four or something.

I've noticed over the past year that my bottom two front teeth seem to be moving- one out, the other in. This basically terrifies me, especially because I'm worried I may have caused it by not wearing the retainer for long enough. I just found my old wire-and-plastic retainer, and I'm thinking about wearing it at night and seeing if it can reverse, or at least halt, the migration. But it's been six years at least- will they even fit anymore? Will the plastic be faulty? Is this just a dumb idea in general?

Please let me know if this might work- I don't want to have to get braces again.
posted by showbiz_liz to Health & Fitness (17 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

It may hurt. I wore a retainer after not for a little while (less than six years), and although my teeth did not move very far, wearing the retainer again was painful. It rubbed up against spots and made the top of my mouth raw, and whatever else was going on didn't seem like very much.

So, if things are moving, it probably won't fit, and won't be pleasant to wear.
posted by that girl at 12:59 PM on February 10, 2008

Snaggle teeth = not sexy
Unique, slightly crooked, non-chiclet teeth = sexy

But if it's getting out of control, go see your orthodontist.
posted by clh at 1:11 PM on February 10, 2008

It's not a dumb idea. I have the same problem -- one lower tooth leaning in, the other tilting out -- but wearing my eighth-grade retainer even one night a week helps keep them from migrating too far. My mouth does get a bit sore, but my teeth are at least not getting worse!
posted by bluenausea at 1:26 PM on February 10, 2008