gift for a one-year-old bb?
February 1, 2008 6:50 AM   Subscribe

Suggestions for a birthday present for a one-year-old female cousin?

It's my cousin's first birthday this Sunday, and I need to get her a present. She's more like a niece, as her mother is the closest relative I have.

I'm a student, and I'm not super-well-off, so I'd like suggestions that are in the ~$50 range.

I need to find something good that I can get tomorrow!

I'm in upstate NY (around Poughkeepsie) if that helps.
posted by exlotuseater to Shopping (18 answers total) 3 users marked this as a favorite

apologies in advance for not responding to answers in a timely fashion-- I'll be working this afternoon, and I won't have netaccess until early evening. Thanks everyone!
posted by exlotuseater at 6:52 AM on February 1, 2008

Books that you loved as a young child.
posted by LoriFLA at 6:54 AM on February 1, 2008

Savings bond. The kid doesn't need any more crap. (Better yet ask the parents if they have started a 529 college plan yet, and then make a check out to the plan.)
posted by Gungho at 7:00 AM on February 1, 2008

You know those train sets that use interlocking wooden tracks? I think Brio is the brand name. Those are awesome. And while that might be a little advanced for a one-year old, she'll probably love it in a few months.

Another great gift is these nesting/stacking blocks. They're cubes made of sturdy cardboard, decorated on each side with a theme (letters, colors, animals). They're open on one side, allowing all of them to nest together, or turn them over and stack them. Also: nesting cups.
posted by spikeleemajortomdickandharryconnickjrmints at 7:00 AM on February 1, 2008