How to craft a programmer's lens?
January 23, 2008 7:54 PM   Subscribe

Help me think in terms of programming metaphors.

Recently I noticed when looking at certain situations relating to people and their respective environments, I was trying to distill aspects of them into software/hardware/computing metaphors. My knowledge of this field is at best intermediate, and being a lowly systems administrator I have no practical experience of coding or developing. I don't want to learn to code or develop, but I do want to read a few books detailing various programming models and languages that are not advanced comp. sci. texts but are above layperson level. Ostensibly, this would help me to build some mental frameworks to juxtapose to real-world situations. This is really borne out of my need to keep poking my brains to keep them from going to sleep. Thanks for any books, practical lessons, thought exercises, websites, etc that you suggest!
posted by Burhanistan to Grab Bag (8 answers total) 7 users marked this as a favorite

You might try looking at the standard design patterns. Head First Design Patterns is an excellent book that describes the patterns in a clear and accessible way.
posted by Lokheed at 8:05 PM on January 23, 2008

I realize it's not quite what you're asking for, but if you decide to lean toward more practical aspects of programming, rather than models of code itself, The Pragmatic Programmer is high-level, readable and concise.
posted by joshjs at 9:46 PM on January 23, 2008

Code, by Charles Petzold does an good job of explaining the principles behind software.

In regards to Lokheed's recommendation of Head First Design Patterns - it's an excellent book, but I'm not sure how accessible it will be to someone with zero experience in object-oriented programming. (If you do have a little experience in OO-programming, then I strongly recommend it.)
posted by tdismukes at 3:25 AM on January 24, 2008