So what's the current scoop on Linux on a laptop?
January 19, 2008 8:25 PM   Subscribe

It's that Linux/laptop question again. Desperate geek seeks cheap, durable gear.

I've read back through the archives, but things change quickly and many of the relevant posts are a few years old.

I need to replace my old laptop on short notice and a small budget. I've always owned macs, but I simply can't afford one now, and I've become fond enough of the UNIX-style command line that I can't imagine switching to Windows. I'll be using it to write code, work with small audio files (I'm a linguistics student), run LaTeX and browse the web. Provided it can do all those things, my biggest priorities are batshit low price (<$700 would be ideal) and durability.

The immediate question is, what hardware? Are Thinkpads still a good choice for this now that Lenovo's making 'em? (Is it worth trying to track down a pre-Lenovo one?) What other manufacturers make cheap, solid, reasonably Linux-friendly machines? Should I still expect the problems with hibernation and wireless that I read about a few years back?

For that matter, I'll need to settle on a distribution. That's not as big a deal — the hardware's the pressing problem, and the nice thing about a free OS is you can't have buyer's remorse over it. But if you've got a strong opinion on which distros work best on a laptop, or if the choice of distros makes a big difference on a specific machine you're recommending, I'd love to hear about it.
posted by nebulawindphone to Computers & Internet (20 answers total) 9 users marked this as a favorite

Ubuntu runs awesome on my Dell Latitude D610. No probs with hibernation or wireless, although the time it takes to boot is best measured in eons.
posted by deadmessenger at 8:34 PM on January 19, 2008

Any laptop manufactured in the past few years will run Linux fine. You may have to scratch here and there for drivers, but in general I've been very impressed with variety of support out there.