Which states will I have to file taxes in?
January 19, 2008 2:28 PM   Subscribe

TaxFilter2007: I earned income at my job in StateA. However, all my bank addresses (permanent and mailing) are for StateB, where someone collects my mail for me. I used StateB for banks to not have to deal with remembering zip codes and changing addresses. Furthermore, I've worked in 2006 in StateC but didn't receive the last paycheck until 2007. Will I have to file state taxes in all these states? This is my first time doing my own taxes.

All these states have regular state income tax by the way. The interest earned in StateB is enough to be reported to the IRS. The 2006 income from StateC was a research assistantship at a university.
posted by lpctstr; to Law & Government (7 answers total)

Is there some reason you can't name the states? Tax law varies significantly from one state to another. (I suspect, though, that the answer is yes, you have to file in every state where you've earned money.)
posted by languagehat at 2:50 PM on January 19, 2008

I would suggest heading down to H&R block or some such tax preparation place and let them help you. It's worth the ~$80-$100 to let them figure out the different state tax situations. You will definitely have to file in StateA and StateC, and probably also StateB. You probably won't have to pay any taxes in StateC, unless your paycheck was for a lot of money; you might even get a refund. The taxes you pay in StateB or StateA might count against the taxes you have to pay in the other states. I've done this for three states before (NY, NE, CA) and it's a pain.

You can try using one of the free federal on-line tax sites. By law, they can't charge you to file federal taxes, but they can charge for state. But they don't charge until you actually file, which means you can work through all the different paperwork ahead of time without paying anything. This would give you a better idea of what/how much you'll owe, and where. Good luck.