Did you go to crazy hippie school? Awesome!
January 17, 2008 6:55 PM   Subscribe

Did you go to a Sudbury school? Do you have contacts with a Sudbury school? Can you help me?

I am doing an undergraduate research project on Sudbury schools and their students, particularly Sudbury schools in rural or semi-rural locations. As part of this, I'm going to be traveling up the east coast in May/June and observing/comparing different Sudbury schools. My intent is partially to figure out what I do and don't want to do when I found my own school in the future -- something my friends and I have been discussing doing for about ten years and change -- and partially to score some sweet, sweet research dollars while doing something I like.

My question is whether any of you lovely Mefites have gone to a Sudbury school, and if so, do you have contacts there that might help me get in more easily for visiting/observing/etc.? If you have experience working at or attending a Sudbury school, what was their policy on visitors like? Would there be a place to stay if I visited, like a homestay? I'm intending to send out emails very soon about all this to the schools I plan to visit, but if you know for a fact that such-and-such school hates visitors with an insane passion, I'd like to know in advance.
posted by InnocentBystander to Education (4 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

I grew up up the road from Sudbury Valley and dated a few guys that went there (post-high school). I went to a dance there in like ... 1985? I'm actually playing Facebook Scrabulous right now with the guy I went to the dance with -- there was a long intervening time between that dance and re-meeting him but he seems like he's a happy well adjusted adult person -- and I'd be happy to put you in touch. Check your MeFi mail and I'll send you some particulars about a few people that might be good contacts, I have no firsthand knowledge of what the places are like now.