Overdriven iPod?
January 10, 2008 9:31 AM   Subscribe

Can a 5G iPod develop sound distortion in one channel?

I had a theft. Bought a used 5G 30gig iPod to replace the same model that was thefted. Wiped it, installed my library.

I have noticed that in the left channel, at some frequencies, it can sound slightly "overdriven." I have noticed this both in earbuds, and through a speaker in my vehicle. I am not an engineer, and it baffles me in that I can understand analog distortion like that, but not digital.

I have till the end of tomrrow to decide if I want to keep it or get my money back at this game store (they say they work with police closely on buy, sellling, used equip., btw). I can't find any info online about this, so I want to know of anyone else has heard of probs that could generate this kind of thing from within the works of the iPod.

Thanks.
posted by Danf to Computers & Internet (9 answers total)

Are you outputting through the stereo jack or the docking port in your car? I suspect that the distortion *is* analog - in the headphone jack itself.
posted by notsnot at 9:36 AM on January 10, 2008

Try fresh batteries?
posted by stupidsexyFlanders at 9:36 AM on January 10, 2008

Oops, ipod. That was stupid.
posted by stupidsexyFlanders at 9:37 AM on January 10, 2008

Response by poster: Well it's through earbuds, also.
posted by Danf at 9:40 AM on January 10, 2008

Do earbuds not connect through the headphone jack? the female part of the connection- inside the ipod itself - is suspect.
posted by notsnot at 9:42 AM on January 10, 2008

Possible workaround: check if the distortion exists via the dock connector, you're going to need dock-style speakers or an old-school ipod dock with a line out to check.

Also, since it's used, make sure the EQ settings are set to flat and not some wacky setting that's causing the distortion.
posted by knowles at 10:15 AM on January 10, 2008