Stay with me?
December 28, 2007 1:15 PM   Subscribe

Is there any reason why people need to stay awake to avoid freezing? I've seen this over and over in movie and tv plots where one person tries to keep another awake.
posted by srboisvert to Health & Fitness (12 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

It is tough to stay moving when you are sleeping. You can't call or look for help. Plus you can't provide any self-report. I am not a hypothermia expert but that might have something to do with it.
posted by Silvertree at 1:18 PM on December 28, 2007

It's not that one needs to stay awake necessarily to avoid freezing (though presumably being awake and as active as possible under the circumstances might generate additional heat and keep you further away from freezing), it's that the sleeping is a classic symptom/result of too much freezing. Ergo, if your buddy can verify that you're still awake, you haven't yet frozen.
posted by LoraxGuy at 1:27 PM on December 28, 2007

It's the other way around. Drowsiness is a sign of hypothermia.
posted by dhartung at 1:29 PM on December 28, 2007 [1 favorite]

Your metabolism also slows somewhat when sleeping.
posted by nathan_teske at 1:30 PM on December 28, 2007

In the movies and tv shows it is usually somebody who is stuck in some way, at the bottom of a crack in the ice or pinned under a rock, with somebody trying to keep them alive by repeatedly saying "Stay with me buddy".

Given that they are trapped self-reports of their condition are irrelevant and they are not going to be moving.

Is there any actual benefit to being awake?

I wonder because I know for some animals, some birds at least, hypothermic sleep is how they cope with cold.
posted by srboisvert at 1:32 PM on December 28, 2007