How can I increase my descriptive vocabulary?
November 21, 2007 8:20 AM   Subscribe

How can I increase my descriptive vocabulary, particularly for the purpose of tagging photos?

I like to tag my photos, but I'm not very good at describing what they are photos of. For example, I tend to have a lot of photos tagged "building", when I'm sure there are more interesting words I could be using. This is the first result on Flickr when I search for building:

http://flickr.com/photos/bandarsungailong/2052951492/

It's an interesting building, but the words that spring to my mind seem inadequate: fancy, tall, turreted, asian...

As an example of where my vocabulary is apparently not so bad, I know the difference between chair, sofa, settee, couch, seat, pew, bench, chaise longue, stool, pouffe... and so on. What I'm looking for is to be able to describe other things in similar detail.

I recognise that this is similar to what authors have to learn to add color to their prose, so an equivalent question might be: how do they do it? Is there a better way than spending a lot of time with a dictionary?
posted by hoverboards don't work on water to Writing & Language (13 answers total)

Using colorful language could help you in prose, but I don't think it would help in tagging photos. What you want to do is identify the characteristics that people who would be looking for that particular photo would search for.
posted by demiurge at 8:34 AM on November 21, 2007

Not a dictionary, but perhaps some sort of vocabulary-building book or software? Or a thesaurus...take words like you've mentioned above and find their synonyms.

These are among the ways writers learn to add color to their prose. They also read widely. Not just widely, but omnivorously, compulsively. In a way, reading is practice for writing. When you absorb words, you also emit words.
posted by lhauser at 8:36 AM on November 21, 2007 [1 favorite]