Which of these two cameras should I buy?
November 17, 2007 5:24 AM   Subscribe

Which camera should I get: the Panasonic Lumix DMC FX30, or the Canon Powershot SD750 (Ixus 75)? Please help me choose!

My husband has very kindly offered to buy me a new digital camera for Christmas. So far I have narrowed the selection down to two very similarly priced cameras, the Panasonic Lumix DMC FX30 and the Canon Powershot SD750 (Ixus 75), but I'm not sure which is the better choice. Can anyone help shed some light on the differences? (I am not very technically minded.)

The focal length for the Ixus is 28-100mm whereas for the Lumix it's 35 - 105mm. I don't know what this means but it seems important. The Ixus macro is 5cm and the Lumix macro is 3cm. I enjoy taking macro photos, but again, I don't know what this means. Also, the Ixus takes a Li-ion battery and the Lumix a NB-4L one. Are there any pitfalls associated with either battery?

Most importantly, I am looking for a camera without a pronounced "shutter lag". I realise that all digital compacts will have a delay to some extent, but my last camera, a Pentax Optio E10 had a delay so dreadful that I essentially couldn't photograph people and had to limit myself to stationary objects! I'm keen to avoid this.

I'm in London, if it matters.
posted by hot soup girl to Technology (17 answers total) 4 users marked this as a favorite

Best answer: The Lumix. All that macro and focal length stuff is nice, but there is only one feature you care about on a camera this size: Image Stabilization. According to that chart, the Panasonic has it, the Canon doesn't.