Help Me Stay Awa-zzzzz
October 22, 2007 6:24 AM   Subscribe

I need to stay awake in a relatively non-stimulating environment, after not having slept in over 30 hours. Anyone know any tips?

OK, so I'm a college student, and I find myself in the fairly stereotypical predicament of having just finished pulling an all-nighter (I've been up since 8:00 yesterday) to finish a paper due in a couple hours. That was the easy part. The hard part will be getting through today without falling asleep. I need to stay awake until 5:00 (in about 9 hours) while sitting through some small classes that I can't sleep in because I am expected to participate/the professor would notice, as well as going to my semi-supervised, fairly monotonous, and detail-oriented work-study job. Caffeine and/or other such stimulants are not an option, seeing as they trigger heart palpitations. Last time I did this, I ended up falling asleep around noon, in class, and I don't want that to happen again. What can I do to stay awake and alert, at least until 5:00?
posted by notswedish to Health & Fitness (25 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

Drink lots of cold water when you feel yourself nodding off.

When you're in class and you can't stand another minute, excuse yourself to go to the bathroom (you'll probably have to go by then anyway) and start running up and down the halls or stairs at top speed -- anything to get your heart rate up.

There have been at least a few other questions like this, so you may want to look for them.
posted by booksandlibretti at 6:29 AM on October 22, 2007

Get in as much sunlight as possible between classes.

Drink a lot of water.

See if you can get a ten minute nap in at some point. ONLY ten minutes, no longer.

Did I mention sunlight?
posted by konolia at 6:29 AM on October 22, 2007

Yeah, water. Start before you get noddy.
posted by allkindsoftime at 6:31 AM on October 22, 2007