How can I prevent potential employers from getting spooked by a less-than-friendly job termination?
September 15, 2007 7:13 AM   Subscribe

CollegeJobFilter: I have recently left one college job on less than friendly terms with my employer, but not necessarily of my own fault. How can I reconcile this with my resume?

I'm a college student at a large American university. Over the summer I worked part-time at a local technology firm (which will remain anonymous). Due to other job offers and scheduling inconveniences with this summer job, I saw fit to quit a few weeks after school started.

I gave notice, and tried to make amends by staying as long as needed to train the replacement. Since the project was more or less at a standstill, I took off until I could meet with the replacement and teach him the particulars of the project. I was supposed to come in within the next few weeks. However, I was informed today that the project was cancelled due to a lack of progress, and as a result my employment officially terminated immediately. I was also informed that I would never be considered for re-hire, and it would be "very unlikely that I would ever get a positive recommendation from anyone at the office". Where this worries me is for my resume: in a few months, I must start the application process for summer internships.

I was never planning to include said HR person or other bosses as a reference anyway (because they do not have any technical expertise or knowledge about my project), but I want to list the job experience because that was my primary employment over summer, and I also acquired some skills. I'm worried that a prospective employer will somehow find the hiring manager and listen to their badmouthing. Is this likely to happen, or would the potential employer only seek to verify dates of employment? I don't want to have my otherwise excellent resume and work experience to be derailed by the unfortunate bridge-burning that was largely outside of my control.