like ask.mefi - only completely different
August 29, 2007 4:56 PM   Subscribe

My friends and I are working - and when I say working, I should add that it is with only very vague direction as we are almost all self-taught - on a web project which we think would be very useful to many people. It is in some small respect tangentially similar to Metafilter, but would not compete with it. Are there any out-of-the-box products, commercial or free, that allow a similar question-and-answer (or comment-and-answer) functionality, where anyone can post and/or comment?

Of the several people playing with this idea and working on the UI, we have a competent graphic designer, a very competent Movable Type developer and a couple of somewhat-experienced programmers. We also have lots of friends who are generous with advice. But so far, we've been unable to find something that does what we need our product to do: receive and post tagged/categorized comments from the general readership (with or without some kind of user-management system), display them, and then accept comments on them.

Any suggestions? We have been saving up to pay our developer and may be able to afford enough to hire someone to build something like this, but I wanted to ask here to see if anyone was aware of a product that already did this.
posted by luriete to Technology (17 answers total) 6 users marked this as a favorite

MetaFilter is just a nice-looking forum, innit? You might try PunBB or phpBB.
posted by evil holiday magic at 4:59 PM on August 29, 2007

Sort of. A forum that has great built-in tagging ability. But yeah. Maybe one of those could be customized. I need to reexamine that avenue - thank you.
posted by luriete at 5:01 PM on August 29, 2007

Sounds like a forum, to be honest. There's about a million open source forums out there... maybe it would help if you told us why an MT install with a dash of plugins won't do the job?
posted by Leon at 5:03 PM on August 29, 2007