How much time do I need to study for the bar exam?
August 28, 2007 10:26 AM   Subscribe

How much is too much bar exam preparation?

I'm considering sitting for the Arizona bar in February. I have previously taken and failed the Florida Bar in 2004 and while I don't want to practice full-time, I need this license for well...closure.

My game plan to date is as follows:

From Nov. 1 to Jan. 1, I'd like to follow the schedule laid out in barexamstudyaids.com. I know. You want a link. I just haven't figured out how to do that.

At that point, I would sign up for Babri. The winter class begins, I believe, Jan. 6 and runs through Feb. 11. I'll be working pretty much full-time up until Feb. 1st. I say "pretty much" because I work for my parents and wouldn't have an issue saying "I'm not coming in this week because I'm studying." I can't do too much of that but my work schedule isn't set in stone.

Since the exam is really a test of short-term memory, I'm wondering if I might be better served simply doing Barbri or using November to January to read up on MBE tactics (It's what felled me.)

Hive mind?
posted by notjustfoxybrown to Education (11 answers total) 2 users marked this as a favorite

The BARBri class will be really helpful. Make sure that you have time each night to do the homework though. The class is useless if you don't do the homework immediately. I'd take it early, so that you can know where you stand and then perfect techniques til the real class.
posted by k8t at 10:32 AM on August 28, 2007

Dear NJFB:

In true law school fashion, let me answer your question with a question: how often would you like to take the AZ bar?