How can I move my desktop computer across the Atlantic?
August 25, 2007 2:10 PM   Subscribe

How can I move my desktop computer across the Atlantic?

I'm about to purchase a new computer. I need something with quite a bit of raw power for both 3d modeling and gaming. Being able to upgrade it down the line would also be a great benefit, that's why I'm logically leaning towards a desktop computer.

The main problem, however, is that about a year from now I'll be going back to grad school in the US. Since I live in France and want to be able to transfer my computer across the Atlantic on the cheap I can only come up with two solutions:

1. Get a laptop instead.

2. Dismantle the computer in a year, pack everything but the case and power supply in my suitcase and replace those items in the US.

I really don't want or need a laptop, its only utility being in my periodic travel. On the other hand I'm afraid the trip might be rough on bare computer parts (though I am an expert packer), not to mention the amount of space it would take.

Is this a solution? Do you have a better idea?
posted by kepano to Travel & Transportation (9 answers total) 1 user marked this as a favorite

In a word, don't.

Buy the desktop. Before you leave, swap out the hard drive. Travel with the hard drive. Use the money you get from selling the desktop to buy the latest and greatest box in the US. Plug in the hard drive, do any necessary activation and driver installation, and voilà.

Rationale: computer kit is cheaper in the US. Prices drop quickly. The dollar-euro rate works in your favour. Even if you sell your desktop for half of what you paid for it, you're likely to be able to build to the same specifications when you get over.
posted by holgate at 2:26 PM on August 25, 2007

You can ship the box entire - there will be a switch on the back of the power supply for 120v/240v operation (I've never done this, so pinch of salt, etc.)

I would suggest you have three options: