How to deal with nattering nabobs of negativity?
August 22, 2007 10:23 PM   Subscribe

How do I reverse the negative attitudes of my employees?

I am a fairly new manager. I was promoted to this position from within my current company.

I've been charged with developing a 3-5 year plan for my department. Having been in the position of my current employees, I know it is important to them that they have a say in the direction the department is going to take.

Today, at a department meeting, I asked "where would you like to see our department in 3-5 years."

My more experienced employees proceeded to share all the reasons that we'll never be able to do anything because we don't have the resources or support.

I stressed that I would like to fight to get more resources and support, but in order to get that, I needed to be able to go to upper management and say "we need more resources and support so that we can achieve these specific goals." I asked what those goals should be.

The same experienced employees then repeated all the reasons why we'd never be able to do anything, though they added that they'd discussed all the things they wanted to accomplish before and didn't want to discuss them again because nothing ever came of it and it was a waste of time.

I said that they may have discussed this all before, but I had never heard these discussions. I pressed them to share with me some of the goals they've previously pursued that they didn't get to achieve.

They asked the former leader of the department, who now works under me, to just give me some of the documents they worked on. They continued to repeat the reasons why this was a pointless exercise.

After the meeting, the two newest employees came over to me and shared some great ideas about where they'd like to see the program in 3-5 years. They are excellent goals that we can achieve.