Change must come from within.
August 16, 2007 3:58 AM   Subscribe

SPSS-filter: How can I change the same property field of all my variables simultaneously?

I have 5 databases (don't ask) with a total of nearly 200 respondents and almost 750 variables. The databases contained identical variables in Excel. While importing them from Excel to SPSS the width and type didn't all stay the same for each variable. As a result, SPSS can't merge them to one large database.

I could copy-paste the same value for the two changed fields in each dataset, but that would mean control-v-ing almost 7500 times. Surely, there must be an easier, more automated way?

As a last resort, I could keep the 5 databases seperately and perform all analyses 5 times, but I'd prefer the most efficient way. Time is unfortunately running out, as I've already wasted a week getting the data displayed correctly in Excel. (Curse you, PHPSurveyor!)

Disclaimer: I'm a SPSS novice, so my apologies if this is a very simple question, but I really can't find the answer.
posted by lioness to Computers & Internet (4 answers total)

I don't have SPSS on this computer, so I am working off of memory here.

You could try importing the first Excel spreadsheet, but instead of clicking on 'OK', click on 'Paste'. This puts the syntax to bring the Excel file into a SPSS syntax file. Copy the code, and paste it after the first set of code. Change the name in the 'Get File' statement to the second Excel file. Do this for files 3, 4 and 5. Hopefully, the format that SPSS chooses for the first will be preserved in the code for files 2-5. Select the entire file, and run the code (there's a button in the toolbar that looks like a little triangle pointing to the right).

I hope my memory isn't too wonky. Good luck!
posted by naturesgreatestmiracle at 4:19 AM on August 16, 2007