Cashier: 20, M, 130lbs - Why the hell is my hip hurting?
July 28, 2007 9:08 AM   Subscribe

Cashier: 20, M, 130lbs - Why the hell is my hip hurting?

I've been cashiering this summer, so for the past 2+ months, i've been standing and moving groceries from right to left and into a bag for 30-33 hours a week.
For the first week, my knees hurt. I refused to take over-the-counter pain medicine, because I'm 20 and not overweight - pain is the body's way of telling me that there is a problem. I made efforts to better my posture, and the pain went away.

About a week or so ago, my left hip started hurting. The back of the joint itself - not the muscle as far as i can tell. I pivot on it a lot, but for some reason i was under the impression that i wouldnt be dealing with hip pain until my 60's.

It's not unbearable pain, but it makes me worry that i might be causing some sort of long-term problem. I'm only working there for another week - Another 30 hours at the job isnt going to cause any long-term damage, Right?
posted by itheearl to Health & Fitness (17 answers total)

My knee hurts like a fucker because the arch in the shoes I'm wearing is wrong for me. You might want to look into that.
posted by DieHipsterDie at 9:12 AM on July 28, 2007

My self-diagnosis of my own mysterious hip pain's cause was that I was often sleeping on my stomach with one leg bent, in a comfortable prone recovery position, which I suspected was stretching the hip joint and causing it to hurt at random moments during the day.

I started sleeping with both legs straight and the pain vanished.
posted by Eater at 9:44 AM on July 28, 2007

It's possible that your legs are slightly different lengths. The cheap fix for this is to fold up some paper and put it in your shoe under the heel of the shorter leg. Adjust as needed.