Anonymous development?
July 21, 2007 3:27 PM   Subscribe

I need to get some film developed, and I don't want it to be seen by anyone.

I have some 35mm film that got mixed up during a move. There are pictures of an important family event mixed with very compromising pictures of an ex-girlfriend that I am still on good terms with. Nothing has been developed because I do not, under any circumstances, want the explicit pictures to get out.

Is there a way to get these developed and not have them seen (even index prints)? I used to develop my own B&W, but I no longer have the equipment, and I have no experience with color.

Bonus points for coming up with a method that has no human involvement whatsoever, as I would rather not have them developed then have the possibility of incriminating pictures of this person ending up online somewhere.
posted by anonymous to Media & Arts (19 answers total)

How about you call up places that do in house development (e.g. most drug stores) and ask them if they will let you supervise their processing because they contain naked pictures of your wife and you don't want them to run off extra copies.
posted by MonkeySaltedNuts at 3:36 PM on July 21, 2007

Your best bet would be to go to a small independant photo lab, explain the situation and even go so far as to request a manager develop them and allow you to be present during the processing.

If they are reluctant, see how far offering a bit of extra cash gets you - how much are you willing to pay to see these pics?
posted by davey_darling at 3:36 PM on July 21, 2007

independent (dangit)
posted by davey_darling at 3:37 PM on July 21, 2007

Many pro facilities will allow you to rent darkrooms with all the fixings by the hour. If you have experience processing B&W, I don't imagine you'll find colour that much of a jump.
posted by docgonzo at 3:38 PM on July 21, 2007